Alice Waters on Food

Every single time I read something by or about Alice Waters or see her speak I’m inspired. That lady does not disappoint and as far as inspiration goes, she’s limitless. This interview with Alice Waters offers a small taste of her highly evolved understanding of food, but the last paragraph is my favorite. So simple. I hope Huffington post’s Alain Elkann who authored the piece doesn’t mind if I quote it here:

“I always have imagined food to be the answer. The way to solve the problems is through food. Problems of health, poverty, global warming, wars. Edible education is to teach children the essential values of sustainability, nourishment and communication. I believe that the whole world has to be educated. Every decision we make is a very political decision. If we change the way we eat, we will have tremendous effect. We should all be able to cook. Finding ingredients is 85-90 percent of cooking, but it is easy to cook.”   ~Alice Waters

We could all use a reminder to slow down and think about what we are putting into our mouths and the mouths of our loved ones. With the pace of this modern world I know I personally could use a reminder everyday.

Sunflowers summer 2015

Leave a comment